

(202) 464-8817

sciencecoalition.org

November 29, 2016

The Honorable Paul Ryan Speaker of the House U. S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Democratic Leader U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Mitch McConnell Majority Leader U.S. Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Harry Reid Democratic Leader U.S. Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Speaker Ryan and Leaders McConnell, Pelosi and Reid:

On behalf of The Science Coalition, we are writing to express our deep concern about passage of a second short-term continuing resolution in December and urge Congress to instead complete the FY2017 appropriations process this year. The Science Coalition is a non-profit, nonpartisan organization of 60 of the nation's leading public and private research universities dedicated to sustaining the federal government's investment in basic scientific research as a means to stimulate the economy, spur innovation and drive America's global competitiveness.

Continuing resolutions are particularly harmful for research. Budget uncertainty puts ongoing research projects in jeopardy and limits the ability of federal agencies to fund new projects. Given all the work done this year to finalize individual appropriations bills, it is disappointing that a string of continuing resolutions might be the final outcome. Moreover, these bills contained some important proposed increases for science agencies including the National Institutes of Health, NASA's science program, the Department of Energy's Office of Science, ARPA-E and the Agriculture and Food Research Initiative.

Federally funded scientific research is critical to America's ability to innovate, compete and create jobs. We strongly urge Congress to complete the FY2017 appropriations process and provide the proposed increases for America's science enterprise.

Sincerely,

Jack Cline

University of Kansas

Science Coalition President

Alexandra Hermann Rutgers University

Science Coalition Treasurer

Glynda Becker

Washington State University Science Coalition Vice President

Anna Quider

Northern Illinois University Science Coalition Secretary



Auburn University Boston University Brown University

City University of New York

Columbia University
Dartmouth College
Emory University
Florida State University

Harvard University

Johns Hopkins University

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

New York University

North Carolina State University

Northeastern University Northern Illinois University Northwestern University The Ohio State University

Pace University

Penn State University Princeton University

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

The Rockefeller University

Rutgers University Stanford University

State University of New York

Stony Brook University Texas A&M University University at Buffalo University of Arizona University of California

University of Colorado Boulder

University of Delaware
University of Florida
University of Illinois
University of Iowa
University of Kansas
University of Kentucky
University of Maryland
University of Michigan
University of Minnesota
University of Mississippi
University of Missouri
University of Nebraska

University of New Hampshire
University of New Mexico
University of Notre Dame
University of Oregon
University of Pennsylvania
University of Rochester
University of South Florida
University of Texas at Austin

University of Utah

University of Washington

West Virginia University

University of Wisconsin-Madison Washington State University Wayne State University

Yale University