WASHINGTON – The Science Coalition (TSC) issued the following statement following the House of Representatives passage of two key pieces of legislation: the “National Science Foundation (NSF) for the Future Act” and the “Department of Energy (DOE) Science for the Future Act:”

“The high-risk, high-reward research conducted at these agencies, in partnership with universities and colleges across the country, creates cutting-edge technology and innovative solutions to address the most pressing challenges, like public health crises and climate change,” said TSC President John Latini. “NSF and DOE’s Office of Science will also play critical roles to ensure the United States remains the global leader in science and innovation. We applaud House lawmakers for their bipartisan commitment to fundamental research by passing the NSF for the Future Act and the DOE Science for the Future Act, particularly Chairwoman Johnson and Ranking Member Lucas who have championed this effort.”


About the Science Coalition

Established in 1994, the Science Coalition is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization of more than 50 of the nation’s leading public and private research universities. It is dedicated to sustaining the federal government’s investment in basic scientific research as a means to stimulate the economy, spur innovation, and drive America’s global competitiveness.