Lawmakers Call for $100 Billion Investment in Technology Directorate

WASHINGTON – The Science Coalition (TSC) today applauded Senate Minority Leader Chuck Schumer, D-N.Y., Senator Todd Young, R-Ind., Representative Ro Khanna, D-Calif., and Representative Mike Gallagher, R-Wis. for authoring the “Endless Frontier Act.”

Specifically, the bipartisan bill would establish a Technology Directorate within the National Science Foundation (NSF). The new directorate would receive $100 billion over the next five years, providing additional research opportunities at universities and supporting undergraduate programs and scholarships.

“In recent years, America has fallen behind its global counterparts in overall support and funding for fundamental scientific research, and this imbalance jeopardizes our global economic competitiveness and our national security. These lawmakers are right to prioritize funding for NSF and a new generation of cutting-edge research and technology, such as artificial intelligence, machine learning, and quantum computing. We commend their commitment to our researchers and STEM workforce pipeline that would chart a new course for American science and innovation.”

To learn more about the “Endless Frontier Act,” click here.


About the Science Coalition

Established in 1994, the Science Coalition is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization of more than 50 of the nation’s leading public and private research universities. It is dedicated to sustaining the federal government’s investment in basic scientific research as a means to stimulate the economy, spur innovation, and drive America’s global competitiveness.