Award Recipients Performed Their Fundamental Research At TSC Institutions

WASHINGTON – The Science Coalition (TSC) joined the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and several other science and higher education organizations to recognize the winners of the seventh annual Golden Goose Awards. The awards honor scientists whose initially “silly-sounding” research has returned enormous benefits to society and underscores the importance of fundamental research performed on university campuses across the country.

The Science Coalition issued the following statement on the award’s winners:

“The scientists recognized by this year’s Golden Goose Awards have had an undeniable impact on our world – from the social science that led to the discovery of implicit bias to the study of cellular proteins in chicken eggs thatimproved cancer treatments to the research into a mysterious gland found in geese that established our understanding of antibodies.

“These scientific explorations, which may at first sound obscure, are shining examples of the immeasurable value that curiosity-driven fundamental research provides our country and our society. The work highlighted this year was done at U.S. research universities through smart, federal investment.

“The Science Coalition applauds this year’s winners and looks forward to many more discoveries from curiosity-driven research that will drive the next generation of life-changing discoveries.”

Of the recipients awarded this year, five represent the following TSC member institutions: Harvard University, Northwestern University, Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey, The Ohio State University, University of Pennsylvania, and University of Washington. At last night’s award ceremony, the winners were congratulated for their transformational work by a bipartisan group of Congressional supporters, including Representatives Suzanne Bonamici (D-OR-01) and Elise Stefanik (R-NY-21), as well as TSC Champions of Science Representatives Jim Cooper (D-TN-05) and Bill Foster (D-IL-11).

To connect with the award winners and learn more about their fundamental research discoveries, feel free to contact the following representatives:

  • Mahzarin Banaji,
  • Anthony Greenwald,
  • Brian Nosek,
  • Stanley Cohen,


About The Science Coalition

Established in 1994, The Science Coalition is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization of more than 50 of the nation’s leading public and private research universities. It is dedicated to sustaining the federal government’s investment in fundamental scientific research as a means to stimulate the economy, spur innovation, and drive America’s global competitiveness.

About the Golden Goose Award

The Golden Goose Award honors scientists whose federally funded work may have been considered silly, odd or obscure when first conducted, but has resulted in significant benefits to society. In 2012, a coalition of business, university and scientific organizations created the Golden Goose Award, conceived by Rep. Jim Cooper (D-TN) as a strong counterpoint to criticisms of basic research as wasteful federal spending such as the late Sen. William Proxmire’s (D-WI) Golden Fleece Award. Learn more about the award, including past winners and supporters:

Download Release