Washington, DC, March 16, 2015 –The Science Coalition today presented U.S. Senator Dick Durbin with its Champion of Science Award in recognition of his commitment to funding the basic research that keeps the United States and the state of Illinois at the forefront of scientific and medical discovery and technological innovation. The award was presented to Senator Durbin at an event at 1871, a co-working center for digital startups in Chicago. Leaders from the five Science Coalition member universities in Illinois joined together to present the award.

They were: Morton Schapiro, President, Northwestern University; Randy J. Dunn, System President, Southern Illinois University; Robert A. Easter, President, University of Illinois; Timothy Killeen, President-elect, University of Illinois; Eric Isaacs, Provost, University of Chicago; and Lesley Rigg, Vice President for Research and Innovation Partnerships, Northern Illinois University.

Download Release