The Science Coalition today presented Senator Chris Coons with its Champion of Science Award in recognition of his strong commitment to funding the basic research that keeps the United States and the state of Delaware at the forefront of scientific and medical discovery and technological innovation.

The award was presented by University of Delaware President Dr. Patrick T. Harker and Deputy Provost for Research and Scholarship Dr. Charles G. Riordan at an event at the University of Delaware’s new Interdisciplinary Science and Engineering Laboratory (ISE Lab). The ISE Lab, which opened last October, brings research and teaching together in a state-of-the-art facility, and engages students of all majors in science and engineering. It is home to the University of Delaware Energy Institute, the Delaware Environmental Institute, and the Catalysis Center for Energy Innovation. The University of Delaware is a member of The Science Coalition.

Download Release