

Champion of Science Award

The Science Coalition's Champion of Science Award recognizes members of Congress whose actions and votes consistently reflect their belief that basic scientific research, conducted at universities and national labs across the country, is essential to the nation's ability to address pressing issues in health, security, energy and the environment, and additionally, that a strong federally supported basic research enterprise drives innovation that fuels the U.S. economy. A distinguished group of nearly 80 current and former members of Congress have received this award since 1999.

Champions of Science in the 114th Congress

Alphabetical List	Year Awarded
Senator Lamar Alexander	2008
Congressman Ken Calvert	2006
Senator Chris Coons	2014
Congressman Jim Cooper	2013
Congressman John Culberson	2014
Congresswoman Rosa DeLauro	2012
Congressman Charlie Dent	2014
Congressman John Duncan	2004
Senator Dick Durbin	2015
Congresswoman Anna Eshoo	2009
Congressman Sam Farr	2013
Congressman Bill Foster	2016
Congressman Rodney Frelinghuysen	2001
Congressman Mike Honda	2005
Congressman Steny Hoyer	2000
Congressman Randy Hultgren	2012
Congressman Ron Kind	2012
Congressman Dan Lipinski	2013
Congresswoman Nita Lowey	2013
Senator Ed Markey	2012
Senator Barbara Mikulski	2000
Senator Jerry Moran	2014
Senator Patty Murray	2013
Senator Bill Nelson	2015
Congresswoman Nancy Pelosi	2004
Congressman David Price	2002
Senator Pat Roberts	2002
Senator Chuck Schumer	2008
Congressman James Sensenbrenner	1999
Senator Richard Shelby	2015
Congresswoman Louise Slaughter	2012
Congressman Pete Visclosky	2006
Senator Ron Wyden	2003
Congressman Kevin Yoder	2016