

Champion of Science Award

The Science Coalition's Champion of Science Award recognizes members of Congress whose actions and votes consistently reflect their belief that basic scientific research, conducted at universities and national labs across the country, is essential to the nation's ability to address pressing issues in health, security, energy and the environment, and additionally, that a strong federally supported basic research enterprise drives innovation that fuels the U.S. economy. A distinguished group of over 60 current and former members of Congress have received this award since 1999.

Champions of Science in the 114th Congress

Champion	Award Date
Senator Lamar Alexander (R-TN)	2008
Congressman Ken Calvert (R-CA)	2006
Senator Chris Coons (D-DE)	2014
Congressman Jim Cooper (D-TN)	2013
Congressman John Culberson (R-TX)	2014
Congresswoman Rosa DeLauro (D-CT)	2012
Congressman Charlie Dent (R-PA)	2014
Congressman John Duncan (R-TN)	2004
Senator Dick Durbin	2015
Congresswoman Anna Eshoo (D-CA)	2009
Congressman Sam Farr (D-CA)	2013
Congressman Chaka Fattah (D-PA)	2013
Congressman Rodney Frelinghuysen (R-NJ)	2001
Congressman Mike Honda (D-CA)	2005
Congressman Steny Hoyer (D-MD)	2000
Congressman Randy Hultgren (R-IL)	2012
Congressman Ron Kind (D-WI)	2012
Congressman Dan Lipinski (D-IL)	2013
Congresswoman Nita Lowey (D-NY)	2013
Senator Ed Markey (D-MA)	2012
Senator Barbara Mikulski (D-MD)	2000
Senator Jerry Moran (R-KS)	2014
Senator Patty Murray (D-WA)	2013
Congresswoman Nancy Pelosi (D-CA)	2004
Congressman David Price (D-NC)	2002
Senator Pat Roberts (R-KS)	2002
Senator Chuck Schumer (D-NY)	2008
Congressman James Sensenbrenner (R-WI)	1999
Senator Richard Shelby	2015
Congresswoman Louise Slaughter (D-NY)	2012
Congressman Pete Visclosky (D-IN)	2006
Senator Ron Wyden (D-OR)	2003